Devotionals

#selfie

I was scrolling through my social media feed the other day when a list of suggested friends popped up. I noticed one girl’s profile. We had been in Sunday school class together since we were babies. So, I clicked on her profile, and what did I find?

Selfies. All selfies.

It seriously made me upset. The fact that she feels the need to post a billion photos of herself on the Internet so others can know how great she looks and how much fun she’s having. I’m not judging her or questioning her faith, because she’s not the only one. We’re all doing it.

There’s something wrong with our culture. Especially our generation. We’re consumed with ourselves. We’re obsessed with how others view us. Our reputation is more important than our relationships.

The fact that the word “selfie” exists proves how messed up our culture is. When my youth pastor’s wife said this, I didn’t think much of it. I mean, there wasn’t anything wrong with posting a cute picture of yourself online to get compliments from people. Or was there?

I want to know something. Where are the Instagram profiles full of pictures from nights spent serving in soup kitchens? From the summers spent babysitting the kid next door for free because her parents are going through a rough time?

The answer is, there aren’t many. Why? Peer pressure. We do what our friends do, never stopping to think for ourselves about why we’re posting that selfie.

The bottom line is, selfies aren’t evil. Having an Instagram isn’t a sin. You don’t need to delete your Snapchat account. The sin is pride. It’s the intention behind the profile full of selfies that makes them a problem.

So the next time you want to post a selfie, ask yourself a question. Why am I posting this? For attention? To uphold my social standing? Or maybe just so your friends across the country know that you’re still alive:)

To tell you the truth, I don’t even have an Instagram. Facebook is it.:) Will I ever get any other social media accounts? Probably. But for now, the less time I’m looking at my phone is time I can use to serve others.

*Rant over*

I have a challenge for you. I know I don’t have a ton of followers, but if you read this post, I challenge you to use the hashtag #selfless and post a photo on social media of yourself serving others, not yourself.

Go do something!

❤ McKinnlee

 

 

 

2 thoughts on “#selfie

    1. Thank you, Misty! This kind of thing really gets under my skin, and the funny thing is, most of us are blind to it. I’m glad that there are those like you who do realize it, though:)

      Like

Leave a Reply

