Writing

Untitled

I remember the first day that I saw it. It was the most tempting thing I had ever seen. Well, I guess tempting isn’t really the right word. It is better described as irresistible.

I was 10 years old that day. We had just moved in to our new house. The curious little boy that I was, I decided to explore the house. I didn’t find anything interesting, until I went into my very own closet.

About half way up the wall, right where the light switch should have been, was a small, red button. Right next to it there was a piece of paper duct taped to the wall. It read DO NOT TOUCH!

My electric blue eyes opened wide in curiosity, as a crooked smile crept across my face. I didn’t even hesitate to press the button with my grubby fingers. To my disappointment, nothing happened. Or so I thought.

Throughout the years, I pressed that button occasionally, hoping that it would do something. I often wondered if it did something that I didn’t know about. I’m 17 now, and it still feels like that day was yesterday. I’ve always been curious about the button, and wondered if there was a mystery about it. Today I finally figured it out.

I was in my closet, grabbing myself a baseball cap, when I pressed the button as I walked by. It’s sort of become a habit for me. Not of a moment later, the floor underneath my feet began to move back and forth. At first I thought I was just dizzy. Then it struck me as I glanced out my window.

“It’s an earthquake.” I thought suddenly. “And I caused it.” I whispered aloud.

How could I be so ignorant for so long, you ask? I don’t know. The evidence was right in front of me the whole time. There had been a huge increase in the world’s earthquakes in the past 7 years, and it was my fault.

I decided to test my theory. I found a website that reported earthquakes in real time. Sitting in my dark closet with my laptop close beside me, I squeezed my eyes shut in fear and took a deep breath. I ruffled my brown hair nervously, putting off what I knew I had to do.

Looking at my watch and noting the time in my head down to the second, I pressed the button.

Instantly, the notification on my computer went off. I slowly turned my head, worrying that my terrible suspicions would be confirmed.

There was a red dot over Alaska. An earthquake of 6.7 magnitude. My heart began to pound, as I moved my mouse over the dot to check the exact time of the earthquake.

The numbers on the screen matched the numbers in my head. Every. Single. Number.

I fell onto my knees, astounded. I was single-handedly destroying the world. I was causing pain, conflict, and suffering all over the world, because I couldn’t control myself.

“God, forgive me.” I whispered desperately. “Give me self-control. Curiosity can overtake me if I let it. I know that now.”

Self-control. It was something I knew I would need for the rest of my life.

I am determined to discover the secret of the button. Who put it there? Why did they do it? And how does it even work?

I might never find out. But I might. And that’s what keeps me curious.

 

____________________________________________________________________

 

Hi! Hope you all liked this story! I couldn’t think of a title, so if anybody thinks of a one, let me know in the comments.

Have a great week!

❤ McKinnlee

 

 

 

2 thoughts on “Untitled

Leave a Reply

