Cooking

Snow Day Chili! 

Hi, everyone!

In case you’ve been living under a rock for the past few days, you might not know that the east coast got hit with one of the biggest snowstorms ever!  Currently snowed in….

So what do I do when I’m snowed in? I cook! I love experimenting with food when there’s nothing else to do on snow days, and all I want to eat is something warm and hearty. I’m not usually a huge meat eater, but I came up with this super simple chili yesterday and loved it! Enjoy!

Ingredients:

1) 1 package of organic, grass fed ground beef

2) 3 cups of various beans(I used dried black, kidney, garbanzo, and pinto beans that I soaked overnight.)

3) 2 grated carrots

4) Handful of chopped parsley

5) 2 boxes of veggie broth

6) 1 jar of tomato sauce

7) 1 small jar of tomato paste

8) 2 chopped onions

9) 3 minced cloves of garlic

10) 1 teaspoon chili powder

11) 1/2 teaspoon cayenne

12) 2 teaspoons salt

13) 1/4 teaspoon white pepper

14) 1/4 teaspoon black pepper

15) 2 chopped avocados
Step 1:

Add ingredients 2-14 into a crockpot, and turn it onto the highest setting. Stir them until combined.

Step 2:

Cook ground beef in a pan over medium heat until brown, then add to the crockpot.

Step 3: Cook for 8 hours, or up to overnight, then serve with chopped avocado.


❤ McKinnlee

 

Leave a Reply

