Writing

Excerpt from my novel

Hello, Everyone!

I realized that I haven’t posted much pertaining to writing on this blog yet, and since I’m currently in the middle of writing a novel, I thought you all might like to have a sneak-peak of a bit of the first chapter. Keep in mind that this part is in the middle of this chapter, so it might be a bit confusing, but I don’t want to give too much away:)

 Mr. DuPont turned his attention to the rest of the class and said, “Now you’ll see a song on the music stand in front of you. Take a minute to look over it and then we’ll try it one at a time.”  

As Rachel glanced at the music sheet, she began to play the song in her chestnut brown head.  She began to imagine she was floating away on the notes as she often did.  It was a simple, yet beautiful melody.

It look Rachel a second to come back into reality.  “It’s so great to be playing music again!” she thought, smiling.  Just then her smile faded as she saw a group of kids whispering and pointing at her. It was so humiliating.  “It must be the way I messed up that chord.” She thought.

Rachel tried to ignore them even though she felt like crying, but she couldn’t.  Then she had an idea.  She needed to ask God to help her get through this class.  She took one last glance at the kids making fun of her and then quickly shut her eyes.

“Dear Jesus.” She prayed silently, “help me to get through this class.  I know you were made fun of in a much worse way than this!  You know what it’s like.  Help me to love my enemies.  In Jesus’ name, Amen.”

The prayer gave Rachel strength to take a deep breath and volunteer to be the first to play the song.  

“Mr. DuPont, may I go first?” Rachel said as she raised her hand.

He looked a little surprised, but said, “Sure! If you feel ready, go ahead!”

Rachel picked up her guitar and began to move her fingers across the strings. Rachel had never used a pick before because she liked to feel each individual and unique string with her fingers.  When she finished playing the song, the whole room sat in silence.  

Comment below about any writing projects that you are currently working on!

❤ McKinnlee

 

7 thoughts on “Excerpt from my novel

  1. I haven’t done many writing projects recently besides NaNoWriMo (National Novel Writing Month) last month. Now I’m trying to edit my novel. 😆
    The excerpt is very interesting! I would love to read more. 😉

    Liked by 1 person

      1. Well, the challenge is to write a novel in a month. That’s why it needs some serious editing, ha ha! The novel itself is mostly revolving around my main character’s conflicting thoughts as they go through a rough time. It’s complicated, LOL! I will probably re-write quite a bit in my editing process. 😉 I wish you good luck on your own novel! That’s a huge accomplishment.

        Liked by 1 person

      2. That sounds fascinating!I’m sure it’ll turn out fantastic! I’m going to try to get it published in a year or two, and I’ll definitely let you know if I do so you can read the whole thing for yourself.

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

