Ballet · Devotionals

Why I Dance

 

 

The story of how I got into ballet classes in the first place is pretty funny. When I was little, I was so clumsy that I would run into doorways and walls. My body couldn’t really keep up with my legs, so I would just completely miss the door. So my mom decided to put me into dance when I was 2 1/2 years old, in hopes of helping me to be less clumsy. Unfortunately, it didn’t really work. I’m still extremely clumsy in everyday life. (Eg. Tripping over absolutely nothing.) But through dance I found something worth much more than the ability to walk through a doorway without running into it. I found joy.

I can’t really explain the feeling I get when I’m dancing. Obviously, dance isn’t a happy, fun, easy thing all the time. In fact, most of the time, dance is probably the opposite of those adjectives. For example, it’s not very fun to spend the majority of my weekday nights icing sore muscles or soaking my feet in ice water after pointe class.  But every once and a while, there is a moment where everything around me ceases to matter, and this incredible joy just builds inside of me. It usually happens when I’m preforming. I remember the first time I felt that joy. I was probably about 8 at the time. It was during a dance that involved a lot of people, and at the very end of the dance, I was the one who got to lead everyone back onto the stage. Right when I was about to leap onto the stage, I just felt like yelling how much I loved dancing. How thankful I was that I could dance. As I burst onto the stage, I had this incredible surge and feeling of strength. I don’t think I’ve ever jumped that high again.

There’s a bible verse that reminds me of this moment:

The LORD is my strength and my shield; my heart trusts in him, and he helps me. My heart leaps for joy, and with my song I praise him.

Psalms 28:7

When you find a passion in life, and walk in God’s will, true joy emerges in your life. Joy is not happiness. Joy is a choice. Joy comes from thankfulness, not good circumstances. So no matter what the circumstances are in your life, if you are thankful, you will find true joy.

❤ McKinnlee

2 thoughts on “Why I Dance

Leave a Reply

