Devotionals

Welcome to my blog!

 

Welcome to my blog! I’ve started this blog because I want to give an inside look on a dancer’s life. There are so many principles that I’ve learned as a dancer that apply to everyday life that I’d like to share with you all via this blog.

My plan for this blog(at least for now) is to post on Mondays and Fridays. On Mondays, I will be posting about something pertaining to dance(life lessons, stories about my dance life, current events in my dancing life, ect). Friday posts will be more casual and creative. I’ll be posting about more random things.(Poems and short stories, organizational tips, essential oils recipes, devotionals, book reviews, ect.)

Anyway, for today’s topic, I wanted to talk about the story that we are all writing: Our Lives.

I believe each of our lives are telling a story. We all have experienced things, learned lessons, and made choices that shape who we are as people. I believe that we’ve been created by a loving God that has a unique plan for each of our lives. When we follow His will, we experience positive growth in every aspect of our lives. It may not be easy at times, but as Romans 8:28 says:

And we know that in all things God works for the good of those who love him, who have been called according to his purpose.”

The hobbies, passions, and talents we have been given are shaping who we will one day become. But usually, as young people, we don’t know what we want to do with our lives yet. Using myself as an example; I like many different things and have many different passions. Obviously, I love ballet, but I also love writing. I also love learning about essential oils(Young Living) and making recipes with them, but I’m a singer too. I’m also interested in doing missions work someday.  None of these things really seem to go together right now, and to be honest that freaks me out. Shouldn’t I have figured out what I want to do with my life by now? Should I be worried about my future?

Well, according the Bible, no. Matthew 6:34 says:

“Therefore do not worry about tomorrow, for tomorrow will worry about itself. Each day has enough trouble of its own.”

Sure, it’s not a bad thing to plan for the future, but I know many people (myself included) that tend to over-analyze and over-plan things until life isn’t very enjoyable any more. We tend to stop looking forward to tomorrow, and start dreading it! The solution to this problem is simple: Stop focusing so much on tomorrow. Instead, focus on what you can get done today.

Here’s my question for you: What are you doing today that will benefit you tomorrow?

Let that sink in for a minute. Seriously, think about it. Here’s a quote to end this post, from Adoniram Judson (a Baptist minister in the early 1800’s) that sums up my thoughts exactly on this concept.

“A life once spent is irrevocable. It will remain to be contemplated through eternity…The same may be said of each day. When it is once past, it is gone forever. All the marks which we put upon it, it will exhibit forever…Each day will not only be a witness of conduct, but will affect our everlasting destiny…How shall we then wish to see each day marked with usefulness…! It is too late to mend the days that are past. The future is in our power. Let us, then, each morning, resolve to send the day into eternity in such a garb as we shall wish it to wear forever. And at night let us reflect that one day more is irrevocably gone, indelibly marked.”-Adoniram Judson

Think about it.

 

❤ McKinnlee

 

6 thoughts on “Welcome to my blog!

  1. Welcome to the blogosphere lovely! I can’t wait to read more from you 🙂 I just followed you, it would be great if we can support each other! I hope you’ll enjoy blogging as much as we all do here ❤

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Love this! I can totally relate, and like you I am also the over analyzing type. Thanks for sharing this bit of inspiration! Looking forward to reading you future posts 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

